PDA

View Full Version : Tutorial: Cloudy eye-effect (animated)



*->Static<-*
1st June 2008, 12:57 PM
Hi and welcome to the cloudy effect tutorial.

We will do this tutorial step-by-step and if you have any remarks please pm me or post them here.

1. First I looked for a picture and I came up with this one:

http://www.giveupalready.com/picture.php?albumid=17&pictureid=87

2. I open photoshop and press file-> New. I use the following settings (You can choose what you want depending of the picture you use and where you want to use it for):

http://www.giveupalready.com/picture.php?albumid=17&pictureid=101

3. Past Angeline in there and use free transform (Ctrl+T) till you have the result you want for here eyes. This is my basic layer:

http://www.giveupalready.com/picture.php?albumid=17&pictureid=96

4. Copy the layer: Layer -> Duplicate Layer...

http://www.giveupalready.com/picture.php?albumid=17&pictureid=92

5. With this layer selected zoom in and cut out the eyes with the Magic Wand Tool (W) and/or the Marquee Tool (M) and finish with a soft brush for naturel look:

Note: This result is without the first layer selected
http://www.giveupalready.com/picture.php?albumid=17&pictureid=93

6. For now we are done with Angelina (don't worry she'll be back), minimise here and make a new project: File -> New
Here I use the following settings (It depends on the size of the eyes that you will use):

http://www.giveupalready.com/picture.php?albumid=17&pictureid=99

7. Fill it up with black/white, then use Filter -> Render -> Difference Clouds (Press Ctlr + F to repete the proces a couple of times to get a good result)

http://www.giveupalready.com/picture.php?albumid=17&pictureid=94

8. Now I drag the clouds to the Angelina project (Make sure the eyes are overlaped)

http://www.giveupalready.com/picture.php?albumid=17&pictureid=91

9. Drag the new layer (the clouds) down as second layer and set the opacity at approximitly 25%:

http://www.giveupalready.com/picture.php?albumid=17&pictureid=97

Result:
http://www.giveupalready.com/picture.php?albumid=17&pictureid=96

10. With Layer 2 selected (clouds) you can choose a different colour (Ctrl + U), it is not needed to do so but it highlights the result:

http://www.giveupalready.com/picture.php?albumid=17&pictureid=89

11. Photoshop is done here, we now go the Imageready for the animation part, therefor press Ctlr + Shift + M.

12. You get the same layers as before, now what we are going to do is making the clouds move in the eyes. First we will duplicate the current frame:

Note: Red circle
http://www.giveupalready.com/picture.php?albumid=17&pictureid=95

13. With the duplicate selected we will move the clouds from one side to the other.

Note: Devisualise the top-layer for a better view of where the clouds are placed and also make sure the eyes are both still covert.
http://www.giveupalready.com/picture.php?albumid=17&pictureid=90

14. Now we are going to Tween. Press the Tween button.

Note: Red circle
http://www.giveupalready.com/picture.php?albumid=17&pictureid=103

15. I use the following settings to Tween:

Note: Play a little with these settings till you have a fine result.
http://www.giveupalready.com/picture.php?albumid=17&pictureid=102

16. Save your result File -> Save Optimized As... (Ctlr + Shift + Alt + S) and show me your results :) (Save it as a .gif).

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v475/Touch_of_Death/Tutorial/Cloud-effect%20eyes/Angelina-Cloudy-Eyes.gif


Good luck!

Nesuke
1st June 2008, 01:00 PM
Static-If you put IMG tags around the URLs they will show up as images within the thread. I know you knew that before but I was just pointing it out :).

*->Static<-*
1st June 2008, 01:01 PM
Yeah I know, but somehow it doesn't work with me... :(

Nesuke
1st June 2008, 01:03 PM
Hmmm, maybe it's because it won't let more than 5 image files show up in 1 post. That maybe another stipulation that will have to be "stretched".

EDIT: Static, Carnage has raised the images limit to 50, so you can put IMG tags on now :P

*->Static<-*
6th June 2008, 08:07 AM
I fixed the images, so they have to be visible now :).