PDA

View Full Version : I want to make an MMO!

Perad
17th January 2008, 07:44 AM
OK, I look like a complete noob and when it comes to non-web programming I guess I am.

I want to create an MMO, I figure that if I spent the time I spend playing games making one then I might actually get quite far. I understand that I cannot make it by myself and one day I intend to get help.

The game I envision is a top down (non-tile movement) based game with highly detailed sprites and cool special effects.

What I want to create is the following.

1. A client which can log into an online server. (Username/Password)
2. The ability to move my character around a world of infinite grass.

I want to do this in C#.

By the end of the year I want the following.

1. Login
2. Character create screen
3. Choose character
4. Enter World

Ideally by the end of the year I will have found some more silly people like me and I might just get a bit further. However you can see where I want to go.

I am at A - noob town. I want to get to B - client/server connection, world of infinite grass, movement.

Could someone give me a road map. Where do I start? What game engine do I use? What do I program first, what resources can I use to help me program it?

Help is very much appreciated.

Mr. Shifter
17th January 2008, 09:25 AM
start by outling the general idea of your mmo, the kind of world you want to create...the kinds of people you want to incorporate...the goal towards which different player must work towards.

Perad
17th January 2008, 09:53 AM
I was planning to do that along side the development of creating a client/server relationship. I have some really good ideas, however its pointless sharing them if I don't have a platform to develop them.

I think the key goal at the moment is learning the skills and assessing the difficulty of the first step.

snoop
17th January 2008, 11:38 AM