PDA

View Full Version : coding languages

car'a'carn
10th January 2007, 03:40 PM
I've been using visual basic for about two years now and I think I have all my basics down. I also know some HTML to he extend that I can help myself (frontpage has been a big aid for that). But I'm looking for something else.

I was wondering what other coding languages are out there, which are most used and which are better (why) Thngs like that. Some information on the options probably might help me make a choise.

snoop
10th January 2007, 04:04 PM
Languages evolve from need. It all depends on what you are doing.
C came about because there was a need for a language with branching functions, logical operators, and arithmetic operators built in that still allowed low level access to memory; thus making it the choice of language for applications that require access low level access to system resources.

C++ came about because of the obvious lack of object orientation in C; and because someone felt that C was great but could use OOP. C++ is commonly used for almost any application; and is generally one of the most popular languages around.

Perl; a reporting and text processing language came about because there was a need for a language that could do text processing, without writing large amounts of C code that didn't directly pertain to the task at hand. Perl can be used for any application that does a lot of regular expressions, text searching, and things of that nature. It is not generally used for GUI type apps. Perl has many extensions and can be extended to do almost anything that you want.