PDA

View Full Version : I am a complete N00B at this, please help

Petoux
12th April 2006, 10:05 AM
I have never done 'C' before, and my teacher explains and teaches like shit, so I need a lot of hwlp with this, since I have no idea what to do or where to start.

I need some advice, and maybe a push forward?

Anyway, this is the 'C' (NOT C++) program I have to write:

Step 1: Pick ten (10) non - zero two (2) digit numbers.

Step 2: Sort the integers in ascending order.

Step 3: Wait

Step 4: Check and see if your two (2) digit numbers is in the "list".

Step 5: If it's found, you get a one (1).

Step 6: If it is not found, you get a zero(0).

Step 7: If you found it or not ; wait.

Step 8: Pick a different non - zero two (2) digit number.

Step 9: If you enter a zero (0) for the number you picked, you gave up.

Step 10: Stop, and terminate the program.

^That's what I have to do, and I have NO idea how to start, what to do, or ANYTHING what so ever.

Please help.

Thanks.

:D

Earendil
12th April 2006, 10:27 AM
Aha, my C knowledge will finally come in handy! I just wrote my C programming final exam yesterday, so I'll see what I can do. If you just started programming in C, I don't really see how the teacher can expect you to do this...

So, it sounds like they're giving you a list of numbers and you're entering 10 numbers yourself and it's going to check for those numbers in that list? Or are you giving it 10 numbers, sorting them, and then checking those 10 numbers for the number you enter?

I don't know how much you know, but what I'd do is something like this:

Use a loop to scanf the numbers into an array. Sort this array. You can find sorting code here (http://www.concentric.net/~ttwang/sort/sort.htm). I'd reccomend bubble sort since it's the easiest.

I'm not sure how you'd "wait"...

You could then write a basic search function, which returns 0 or 1 based on if the number is found. Usually this is something a teacher will tell you how to do...