PDA

View Full Version : Irc?



Shade
13th October 2004, 10:52 AM
Um, I think we should get IRC up again...everytime I click the chat button, it says, "Couldn't resolve address www.giveupalready.com"

Also, the chat button doesn't show up for IE for mac, nor does it do those fancy drop-down menus...

Help?!

The Truth
13th October 2004, 10:54 AM
While you're at it, semija used to have a link from his sig for people that can't download MIRC. Can someone kick that link back up please?

omega
13th October 2004, 11:20 AM
I don't know what the problem with resolving *.giveupalready.com is, but add this to your HOSTS file to solve the problem:


66.98.194.40 www.giveupalready.com
66.98.194.40 irc.giveupalready.com
66.98.194.40 chat.giveupalready.com


the filename is "HOSTS" and it will be in a subfolder of your windows directory

in windows 2000 it is in %windowsdir%\system32\drivers\etc\ where %windowsdir% is, funnily enough, your windows directory.

Stephen
13th October 2004, 11:28 AM
Holy SHIT!

I was having problems with my connection last night (probably a good thing since I had this essay to do...) and so I went to check that my HOSTS file still had then in it. And I found 18kb of hosts...
Adware in my hosts file! What is the world coming to!!

omega
13th October 2004, 11:41 AM
if those hostnames are beside an ip of "127.0.0.1" it's actually stopping banners and such from displaying on your computer

I think adaware edits your HOSTS file if you'll let it.

Shade
13th October 2004, 12:48 PM
Um, I have a mac, so that windows stuff isn't going to help me...

omega
13th October 2004, 01:26 PM
click here (http://accs-net.com/hosts/hostsformac.html) for information regarding using a hosts file on a mac.



After looking at the hosts file provided by that site (which is perfectly fine, it's not going to do any damage to your system), you'll have to add these lines instead:


www.giveupalready.com CNAME 66.98.194.40
irc.giveupalready.com CNAME 66.98.194.40
chat.giveupalready.com CNAME 66.98.194.40

Shade
13th October 2004, 01:33 PM
erm, I'm not seeing any code in that box...

semija
13th October 2004, 09:24 PM
While you're at it, semija used to have a link from his sig for people that can't download MIRC. Can someone kick that link back up please?
it's the very same link as the 'chat' button up top of the forum.

omega
13th October 2004, 10:50 PM
erm, I'm not seeing any code in that box...

www.giveupalready.com CNAME 66.98.194.40
irc.giveupalready.com CNAME 66.98.194.40
chat.giveupalready.com CNAME 66.98.194.40